Return home!
Round 5: Magro claims the Title and the Record.   
Story By: Administrator  Date: 3/11/2019 at 10:52:34 AM 
R-Tek Motorsport's John Magro has taken the 2019 Australian Formula 3 Championship by winning all 3 races at Wakefield Park, setting the outright lap record and breaking the record for consecutive race victories.

The Cairns mango farmer became the fifth different winner of the City of Goulburn Cup in five years, winning the Australian Formula 3 Championship feature race at Wakefield Park on Sunday afternoon, and breaking the outright circuit record on his way to his 15th straight race victory of the season.

Magro lowered the Wakefield Park benchmark to 0:53.4s, taking 0.3s off the previous best time around the circuit, set by Harri Jones in 2018.

Gilmour Racing's Josh Buchan scored a pair of second-place finishes, while Shane Wilson finished third overall in the Championship Class, after Reilly Brook took an off-track excursion at Turn 10 in the final race.

The overall National Class (for pre-2008 model cars) win went to Gerrit Ruff ahead of Ryan Astley and Roman Krumins; Ruff leads Krumins by just four points with one round remaining.

Buchan had earlier claimed his first All Properties Group Pole Position Award on the Saturday morning.
Follow us on Twitter! Interact with us on Facebook!