Return home!
Winslow ends record-breaking season with another win   
Story By: F3 Media Release  Date: 23/9/2012 at 3:05:49 PM 
A SEASON of records has ended with James Winslow winning the final round of the 2012 Formula 3 Australian Drivers Championship, today at Phillip Island in Victoria.

Winslow won the feature race this afternoon in a day that rapidly changed from torrentially wet to bright and sunny; 17-year-old rookie Hayden Cooper winning the morning’s second sprint race in stunning fashion with a masterful wet weather performance.

It was a big win; one that emphasised his place as one of the rising stars of the sport – but when conditions dried Winslow’s emphatic lights-to-flag victory was enough to put an exclamation mark on a dominant season.
The 14-lap race unfolded as a reflection of the season – Winslow just edging away from outgoing champion Chris Gilmour and team-mate Steel Guiliana lap after lap.

They finished in that order in the race and the championship after 21 races and 7 rounds across Australia.

“It was the perfect way to end a just about perfect season,” Winslow said.

“I can’t thank the effort by the entire R-Tek team, and especially Ian and Meryl Richards, for the effort they’ve put in. It’s been fantastic.

“Obviously we were a bit disappointed with yesterday’s penalty and wanted to show our obvious speed which we were able to do in race three. We’ve had pace all weekend and that was a great way to show it.”

Winslow’s record-breaking season has seen him re-set many of the statistical benchmarks in Australian Formula 3, including; Most wins in a year (13), most points scored in a season (276), all-time wins in F3 (29) and, of course, a rare second title to add to his 2008 crown.

Lockie Marshall won the Forpark National Class round with a convincing dry weather performance.

Earlier in the day, Hayden Cooper won a stunning second race of the weekend when he went from fourth on the grid to the race lead – and an eventual near 50-second victory over the entire field.

Revelling in the wet conditions – his first ever time driving his BF Racing Dallara in the wet – Cooper drove away from the field despite having spun on the formation lap, and having been hit from behind on the warm up lap when his car was sluggish away from the line.

Despite the dramas, the Forpark Australia National Class champion dominated proceedings and became just the second ever driver to win a race outright driving an older model car – recording his (and BF Racing’s) first win in the process.

“I couldn’t believe it,” Cooper said.

“It was awesome. I was pretty confident going into it, even though I’d never driven in the wet – I just didn’t say anything! The car was great and I just did my own thing. It’s pretty amazing to have a win amongst this kind of company.”

An impressive drive from rookie Jake Fouracre – making his Formula 3 debut in the G-Force Motorsport Mygale – finished second with James Winslow beating Gilmour to third.

The winner of the Forpark Australia Scholarship – which awards funding towards the most impressive Forpark National Class driver as judged by a panel of industry experts – will be announced tonight at the end of season Formula 3 awards night.

All the action from the final round of the Formula 3 Australian drivers Championship will be broadcast on SBS Speedweek in October – check the Formula 3 website for more information and key details.
Follow us on Twitter! Interact with us on Facebook!